All local authorities are required by the School Admissions (Co-ordination of Admissions Arrangements) (England) Regulations 2012 to have a scheme in place each year for coordinating the admission arrangements for all maintained schools and academies (except special schools and nursery schools) within their area.

View the co-ordinated admission scheme for Newcastle for 2017/18 (pdf, 127kb).

Admission arrangements for individual schools

All admission authorities are required by law to agree and publish an admission policy by 28 February each year to explain how school places will be allocated in the following academic year. The policy should set out the rules that the admission authority will follow when more parents apply for school places than there are places available. Once the policy is agreed, the admission authority must follow the rules they have set or they will be breaking the law.

Newcastle City Council is the admission authority for community schools in the city and is therefore responsible for determining the admission policy for the following schools: Byker Primary School, Knoplaw Primary School, Moorside Community Primary School, Westgate Hill Primary School and Walbottle Campus. To view the admission policies for Newcastle community schools, click on the links below. 

Admission policy for community and voluntary controlled primary schools 2017/18 (pdf, 68kb)
Admission policy for Walbottle Campus 2017/18 (pdf, 76kb)

The admission authority for a Foundation Trust school, faith school or academy is the Governing Body of that school. The admission policies for own admission authority schools are published on the individual schools' websites. You can find the list of schools in the schools section of our website. 

Changes to Admissions Arrangements Following Consultation

Please note that the following schools have made changes to their admission arrangements from 2017/18 following consultation. 

Page last updated: 
12 September 2017
1 Start 2 Complete
Was this page useful?