Lord Mayor Awards

Lord Mayor Awards

On this page:


Lord Mayor's Awards Scheme

The scheme awards those who have made an exceptional contribution to the city. They will:

  • be a resident of Newcastle
  • be regarded as a person of distinction within their chosen field
  • work in a voluntary capacity
  • perform a leading role in the delivery of the service provided
  • have shown long term commitment, for example intensive work over 3 to 5 years or consistent service over 20 years
  • have made an exceptional contribution or significant difference to their community or cause
  • be involved in a role or service that is unique, innovative or significantly different from other services
  • be involved in a service that is substantial, for example involving at least 100 people

Nominations for an award should demonstrate wide spread support from the community served or group concerned.

Awards will not usually be made to those who have received recognition in the past or who have had a previous nomination turned down.

Lord Mayor's Awards nomination form 

Lord Mayor's Awards Recipients


Lord Mayor's Design Awards

lord mayors design awards judges

The Lord Mayor's Design Awards have been running since 1994.  The awards aim to encourage, promote and publicise the very best in architecture and environmental design and to improve the built environment. Awards are given to outstanding projects in the fields of architecture, planning, environmental, urban and landscape design.



Awards are made every two years, and are organised by the Urban Design Team in the Place Directorate.  For more information, you can contact us via urbandesignandconservation@newcastle.gov.uk (Email).


The 2023 Lord Mayor's Design Awards is now open for nominations. Click here to download the entry form. The closing date for the submission is 20th October 2023 (Friday) and there is no entry fee. 


Lord Mayor's Design Award 2019


The 2019 Lord Mayor’s Design Awards saw 11 buildings and projects completed between September 2017 and August 2019 take home awards winners across eight categories.  Winners this year included volunteers’ efforts to “reduce, reuse and recycle,” a school’s investment in the arts, an international sporting arena, the conversion of a former synagogue and the transformation of Bigg Market.


Lord Mayor's Design Award 2019


Thank you to all of the projects who submitted an entry to the 2019 Lord Mayor’s Design Awards. The judging panel were thoroughly impressed by the quality of the entries, and the Lord Mayor Councillor David Cook said it was “inspiring to see such a wide range of projects putting environmental and community considerations right at their heart." You can view the Press Release (URL)  The 2019 Award Winners Brochure is available via email.


Newcastle Eagles

Newcastle Eagles Community Arena - Special Award Winner 2019


Previous Awards:

All the previous winners' brochures below are available via email

Need more information?

If you would like to make a nomination for Lord Mayor Awards, please contact: Email: lord.mayor@newcastle.gov.uk

For more information on the Lord Mayor's Design Award, you can the Urban Design Team via urbandesignandconservation@newcastle.gov.uk (Email).

Is this page useful?
Is this page useful?