Durham, Gateshead, Newcastle, North Tyneside, Northumberland, South Tyneside and Sunderland councils have all come together to form a combined authority known as the North East Combined Authority. 

The combined authority will help deliver a more coordinated approach to important issues affecting the whole region such as transport, skills and attracting investment. It will not replace individual councils, who will continue to deliver the vast majority of services to local communities. 

Visit the North East Combined Authority website

Related news stories

Next step for North East Combined Authority (1 April 2014)

Joining forces for our economic future – have your say on Combined Authority plans (18 December 2013)

Combined Authority gets green light (1 August 2013)



Page last updated: 
23 May 2014
1 Start 2 Complete
Was this page useful?