Local elections 2019

On 2 May 2019 there will be local elections in Newcastle upon Tyne to elect 26 councillors. Find out more about Local Elections 2019.

North of Tyne Combined Authority Mayoral Election

For more information including election notices visit https://www.northoftyne-ca.gov.uk/north-of-tyne-mayor-election.

European Parliamentary Election

For the notice of election and more information visit the European Parliamentary Election page.

British Citizens and Citizens of the Irish Republic - Full Voting Rights

Commonwealth Countries - Full Voting Rights

Antigua and Barbuda Kenya Samoa
Australia Kiribati Seychelles
The Bahamas Lesotho Sierra Leone
Bangladesh Malawi Singapore
Barbados Malaysia Solomon Islands
Belize Maldives South Africa
Botswana Malta* Sri Lanka
Brunei Darussalam Mauritius Swaziland
Cameroon Mozambique Tonga
Canada Namibia Trinidad & Tobago
Cyprus* Nauru Tuvalu
Dominica New Zealand Uganda
Fiji Islands** Nigeria United Kingdom
The Gambia Pakistan United Republic of Tanzania
Ghana Papua New Guinea Vanuatu
Grenada Rwanda Zambia
Guyana St Kitts & Nevis Zimbabwe
India St Lucia  
Jamaica St Vincent & The Grenadines  

*Although also EU member states, citizens of Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in all elections held in the UK.

**Citizens of Fiji and Zimbabwe retain their voting rights despite the countries having been suspended from the Commonwealth.

British Crown Dependencies

  • Isle of Man
  • The Channel Islands (including Jersey, Guernsey, Sark, Alderney, Herm and the other inhabited Channel Islands).

British Overseas Territories - Full Voting Rights

  • Anguilla
  • Bermuda
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Falkland Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Montserrat
  • Pitcairn Island
  • St Helena and dependencies (Ascension Island and Tristan da Cunha)
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Sovereign base areas on Cyprus
  • Turks and Caicos Islands

List of EU member states - Can vote at Local and European Parliamentary Elections only

Austria Italy
Belgium Latvia
Bulgaria Lithuania
Croatia Luxemburg
Cyprus Malta
Czech Republic Netherlands
Denmark Poland
Estonia Portugal
Finland Romania
France Slovakia
Germany Slovenia
Greece Spain
Hungary Sweden
Ireland United Kingdom
Page last updated: 
3 April 2018
Was this page useful?