Three councillors represent each of the 26 wards in the City and are elected for a 4-year term. Councillors participate in the work of the council in a variety of ways and help constituents with problems involving the work of the council. The overriding duty of councillors is to the whole community but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them. Councillors have to agree to follow a code of conduct to ensure high standards in the way they undertake their duties.

Leader of the Council - Nick Forbes (Labour)

Deputy Leader of the Council - Joyce McCarty (Labour)

Leader of the Opposition - Anita Lower (Lib Dem)

See also: Committees - general information 

Page last updated: 
11 January 2019
Was this page useful?