Pop-up voting station for youth council elections.

2017 Youth Council elections results.
2017 Youth Council elections results.

Newcastle city council will be hosting a pop-up voting station on Northumberland Street on 6 February to encourage young people to vote in this weeks Youth Council Elections.

Voting for the Youth Council Elections takes place in 16 schools across Newcastle on Thursday 7 February, but the pop-up voting station aims to make the voting process in Newcastle accessible for young people in the city.

Cllr Habib Rahman, cabinet member for communities, said: “The Youth Council and Youth Parliament provides the perfect opportunity and a great platform for young people to get into the world of politics and have a real impact on the city that they live.”

“It is important that we engage young people in Newcastle in the democratic process and the pop-up station allows anyone under the age of 18 to have their say and vote for who they want to represent the youth voice both in our city and nationally and the vote for the issues that are important to them.”

“Basing a voting station in the centre of the city shows that we are dedicated to ensuring every voice in the city has the opportunity to be heard while giving the candidates a voice beyond their typical platform.”

There are 26 candidates standing for election in the 2019 ballot with 14 positions up for election in the Youth Council with another 4 positions available for Youth Parliament.

Those who wish to vote also do not need to register, they can attend the pop-up station and simply provide their postcode and name of their school. To be eligible to vote you must be aged between 11 and 18 years old and live or learn in Newcastle.

The voting station will be in place on Northumberland Street on Wednesday between 4 and 7pm.

Newcastle Youth Council (NYC) was launched in 2010 as an independent voice for 11-18 year olds who live, learn, or work in the City. The council addresses local, regional and national priorities.

Youth council and youth parliament elections take place every two years.