Newcastle Library’s Top 10 audiobooks of 2017 so far

Here are the top 10 most borrowed audiobooks at Newcastle Library of 2017 so far.

Borrowing audiobooks is very simple, you can download up to 10 audiobooks at a time and the maximum loan period is 21 days. Titles are automatically returned at the end of the loan period so you don’t need to worry about no late returns. To find out more visit the library web pages.

1) Black Widow

Black widow ebook

Who’s the author? Chris Brookmyre ​

Who narrates it? Multiple Narrators, Angus King, Scarlett Mack

Genre: Crime

Synopsis: Twists abound in the brilliant new psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre - perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train, I See You and Disclaimer.

2) A Deadly Thaw

A deadly thaw ebook

Who’s the author? Sarah Ward

Who narrates it? Julia Anthony

Genre: Crime

Synopsis: A man whose killer—his wife—was convicted 15 years ago is discovered freshly murdered in this rivetingly suspenseful mystery from critically acclaimed author Sarah Ward.

3) Little Sister

Little Sister ebook

Who’s the author? David Hewson

Who narrates it? Saul Reichlin

Genre: Crime

Synopsis: Kim and Mia Timmers were just eleven years old when their family was killed. The sisters were accused of murdering the lead singer of a world-famous pop band in the Dutch fishing village of Volendam, believing him to be responsible for their family's deaths. The evidence seemed irrefutable at the time and the sisters were imprisoned in Marken, a local psychiatric institution. Now, ten years later, they are due for release.

4) Splinter the Silence

Splinter the Silence ebook

Who’s the author? Val McDermid

Who narrates it? Saul Reichlin

Genre: Crime

Synopsis: Splinter the Silence is a novel centered on the mysterious deaths of several women who were the victims of vicious cyberbullying.

5) The Road to Little Dribbling

The road to little dribbling ebook

Who’s the author? Bill Bryson

Who narrates it? Nathan Osgood

Genre: Travel Geography

Synopsis: The hilarious and loving sequel to a hilarious and loving classic of travel writing: Notes from a Small Island, Bill Bryson’s valentine to his adopted country of England.

6) Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone ebook

Who’s the author? J. K. Rowling

Who narrates it? Stephen Fry

Genre: Modern Fiction

Synopsis: Harry Potter is an ordinary boy who lives in a cupboard under the stairs at his Aunt Petunia and Uncle Vernon's house, which he thinks is normal for someone like him who's parents have been killed in a 'car crash'. He is bullied by them and his fat, spoilt cousin Dudley, and lives a very unremarkable life with only the odd hiccup (like his hair growing back overnight!) to cause him much to think about.

7) Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban ebook

Who’s the author? J. K. Rowling

Who narrates it? Stephen Fry

Genre: Modern Fiction

Synopsis: When the Knight Bus crashes through the darkness and screeches to a halt in front of him, it's the start of another far from ordinary year at Hogwarts for Harry Potter. Sirius Black, escaped mass-murderer and follower of Lord Voldemort, is on the run - and they say he is coming after Harry.

8) Dusk

Dusk

Who’s the author? Maureen Lee

Who narrates it? Karen Cass

Genre: Thriller

Synopsis: As school closed and the long summer break begins, lifelong friends Norah and Daisy are looking forward to one last summer together. Daisy has finished school and is about to marry; Norah is due to return for her A Levels.

9) When She Was Bad

When she was bad ebook

Who’s the author? Tammy Cohen

Who narrates it? Avita Jay

Genre: Thriller

Synopsis: Amira, Sarah, Paula, Ewan and Charlie have worked together for years - they know how each one likes their coffee, whose love life is a mess, whose children keep them up at night. But their comfortable routine life is suddenly shattered when an aggressive new boss walks in ....

10) The Bell Jar

Who’s the author? Sylvia Plath

The Bell Jar ebook

Who narrates it? Maggie Gyllenhaal

Genre: Literature

Synopsis: When Esther Greenwood wins an internship at a New York fashion magazine in 1953, she is elated, believing she will finally realise her dream to become a writer. But in between the cocktail parties and piles of manuscripts, Esther's life begins to slide out of control. She finds herself spiralling into depression and eventually a suicide attempt, as she grapples with difficult relationships and a society which refuses to take women's aspirations seriously.